Press "Enter" to skip to content

11 US Mayors Say they are Committed to Paying (*11*) for Slavery | Voice of America

Eleven U.S. mayors stated Friday they are dedicated to paying reparations for slavery however gave few particulars on how they would accomplish the duty.

The group, led by Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti and Denver Mayor Michael Hancock, introduced a coalition to pursue reparations, Mayors Organized for (*11*) and Equity (MORE).

“Our coalition stands on the belief that cities can — and should — act as laboratories for bold ideas that can be transformative for racial and economic justice on a larger scale,” the group stated on its web site.

It stated the 11 cities would create native commissions comprised of representatives from Black-led organizations that will decide how to implement the reparations. Questions that would wish to be determined embrace who would qualify for reparations, how a lot money could be spent and who would pay for the reparations.

The mayors stated on their web site that metropolis applications would fluctuate in “style and scope” however would “serve as high-profile demonstrations for how the country can more quickly move from conversation to actions” on the problem.

They famous that the dialog “has hardly moved beyond theory since the end of the Civil War.”

Garcetti stated throughout a information convention Friday that “cities will never have the funds to pay for reparations on our own,” in accordance to the Associated Press.

“When we have the laboratories of cities show that there is much more to embrace than to fear, we know that we can inspire national action as well,” Garcetti stated.

The different mayors concerned within the coalition are from St. Louis, Missouri; Tullahassee, Oklahoma; Providence, Rhode Island; Austin, Texas; Durham, North Carolina; Asheville, North Carolina; Kansas City, Missouri, Sacramento, California, and St. Paul, Minnesota.

The formation of the coalition comes because the nation marks Juneteenth, a celebration of the tip of slavery within the United States. President Joe Biden signed a invoice this week making a federal vacation on Juneteenth — June 19.